Pride Goeth Before a Fall

November 23

 

PRIDE GOETH BEFORE A FALL

 

 

In truth, pride goes wherever it wants, it’s pride.  Pride wanders alone, for no one enjoys its company.  Pride travels far but gets nowhere.  Pride rises above reality and seeps beneath the surface.  When pride wears out, love and honesty poke holes in it until it is grounded and transforms to humility.  Pride’s past is remembered with flush and embarrassment.  Recounting yesterday is pride’s unenviable task.  Keeping it from recreation is mine.

 

 

Dress yourself with love.

 

*

No Mickey Mouse

 

 

The Wonderful World of Disney

belonged to normal children;

kids with Sunday nights

and not the tear filled screaming

which punctuated my weekends.

 

I had no time for the creative melodrama

built to add interest into the dull little lives

of safe little ones, there is no Disney for me;

no clean pasteled figures frolicking.

 

I know only the freshened wit of the wizened rabbit

and the frenetic slamming of that distorted duck;

these are there for me.

Teaching me the dark humor of the life I lead;

 

Preparing me to laugh at M*A*S*H,

yet still never cluing me to the fact

that Carroll O’Connor was only teasing,

so still I cried to hear his rants,

 

But the dry irony of Hawkeye,

war and blood, those I got.

I was carefully led there by the Merry Melodies.

 

 

 

 

Vlog: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7AIC03nvnM&feature=youtu.be

 

You are reading selections from Sober on the Way to Sane and More Lines From My Life by Sherrie Theriault

http://www.amazon.com/Sober-On-The-Way-Sane/dp/1440417342/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1388576888&sr=8-1&keywords=sober+on+the+way+to+sane

http://www.amazon.com/More-Lines-From-My-Life/dp/1448677203/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1388576956&sr=8-1&keywords=More+Lines+From+My+Life

About Sherrie Theriault

Sherrie Theriault, writer and outsider artist lives in northwest New Jersey where she writes villain-free fiction for children and young adults, creates coloring books for all ages, writes daily inspiration books for the recovery community and has other works of collected poetry; also adult fiction. Books available on Amazon.com include the following: Cala Mae The Deep Dark Day In The Congenial Chronicles The Holland’s Adventure Fill Me In Fill Me In, Too Filled In Sober on the Way to Sane More Sober on the Way to Sane Lines from My Life More Lines from My Life On-Liners to Live By My Sponsor Said… Elissa: Queen of Carthage Was Love Lost Order of Protection The Story Precedes the Question Can You See? What the Birdies Told Me about You What the Birdies Told Me about You Coloring book The Enchanting Dog Sherrie’s books are available at Blue Stockings, Manhattan, NY, The Clinton Book Shoppe, Clinton, New Jersey, Giovanni’s Room, Philadelphia, PA, Easy Does It in Long Beach, CA and The Latest Thing in Costa Mesa, Ca. You can find Sherrie’s art work at Hang-Ups Gallery in Allentown, PA or online at: SerendipitousGallery.com Please feel free to contact her there if you have any questions.
This entry was posted in 12 step recovery, Affirmation, Alcoholics Anonymous, Hope, Humor, Poetry, Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment