All Better Now

May 17

 

ALL BETTER NOW

 

 

Mother kissed the booboo and I wait for the admonition to take effect.  Waiting, I count the problems like telephone poles on a long journey.  What will it be like, the world all better?  The anticipation nearly breaks me for a while until waiting turns to disbelief.  A chill fills the space and ‘all better’ becomes the cry.  My sponsor calls for moderation and lowering my expectation.  The child’s ears ring with the promise to be fulfilled.  She can not give herself over to a world where a Band-Aid is not a cure-all but only a cover for the slow work of internal healing, scars and all.  Sheer survival is not sufficient for the screaming toddler; heartbreak from injustice calls for more than endurance.  But, alas, a kiss is all we have.

 

 

Time pulls the tide and the tide pulls you; let it.

*

 

 

Who Rang?

Examine the instillation of your buttons

as a process of discovery for disabling them.

Pay attention to the wiring but also to the hardware.

Sometimes the advertising is the thing

which keeps alive something better off put to rest.

Many things are rooted in other pots

and have a lifeline from outside of the current host.

All the connections and housing should be explored

as well as what work the mechanism does once pressed.

Is there a gong, tinkling bells?

Does it release the wolves from their den or tiger from his lair?

Information is a tool which never fails to help me

in disassembling the traps and their triggers

I must not shy from the gathering.

 

About Sherrie Theriault

Sherrie Theriault, writer and outsider artist lives in northwest New Jersey where she writes villain-free fiction for children and young adults, creates coloring books for all ages, writes daily inspiration books for the recovery community and has other works of collected poetry; also adult fiction. Books available on Amazon.com include the following: Cala Mae The Deep Dark Day In The Congenial Chronicles The Holland’s Adventure Fill Me In Fill Me In, Too Filled In Sober on the Way to Sane More Sober on the Way to Sane Lines from My Life More Lines from My Life On-Liners to Live By My Sponsor Said… Elissa: Queen of Carthage Was Love Lost Order of Protection The Story Precedes the Question Can You See? What the Birdies Told Me about You What the Birdies Told Me about You Coloring book The Enchanting Dog Sherrie’s books are available at Blue Stockings, Manhattan, NY, The Clinton Book Shoppe, Clinton, New Jersey, Giovanni’s Room, Philadelphia, PA, Easy Does It in Long Beach, CA and The Latest Thing in Costa Mesa, Ca. You can find Sherrie’s art work at Hang-Ups Gallery in Allentown, PA or online at: SerendipitousGallery.com Please feel free to contact her there if you have any questions.
This entry was posted in Booboo, Humor, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to All Better Now

  1. Heidi says:

    Great stuff.

    All Better Now. Oh, sure. ha. Sometimes I just want to say, “keep your kisses!”

    Who Rang? I go to the door and the source is disguised, often. You’re right. ‘Many things are rooted in other pots and have a lifeline from outside of the current host.’ I can’t tell you how many offenses I’ve taken on and found out they weren’t mine to take at all! I may be extrapolating too far, but this has so much application to how my defenses work. I love it. I’m going to share it.

    • I’m so excited that you share my work! As my sponsee, Lisa says, “One hand washes the other, both hands wash the face.” yes, I have many of those things which have their roots outside of my life, but causing me trouble inside my life!

      • Heidi says:

        What an interesting comment from Lisa. My goal is to be fairly rootless as troubles go. (Maybe that’s part of the RV lifestyle for me. Just kidding) Being mobile keeps me in the present much better than sitting on my duff in a house! If I take the roots all the way to Texas from Iowa, then they need to looked at and buried in the desert someplace. How handy. Plenty of sand here.

  2. Another brilliant post, Sherrie. Full of wonderful, meaningful insight. I really like this one!

Leave a comment