How I’ve come upon the World

November 28

 

 

How I’ve come upon the World.

 

 

 

My first exposure to Bogart was as the man who was after Bugs Bunny, and Lauren Bacall was only referred to as Baby.  I only ever heard Kaw Liga because Stephen King referenced it too often and I had to go have a listen.  I come through the back door on so much of the world and it has served me rather well.  Yes, I often feel ignorant, but at least the knowledge never sees me coming and I get the drop on it.  There is a quality to not having been spoon-fed, that keeps me sharp and allows for depth.  The universe sends me clues and I go investigate.  It cuts down on the agendaed learning of the social norms and cuts me a wide swath beyond the common path.  There are times when conformity is key; then again it’s a sweet thing to have a choice.

 

 

 

 

 

Level inequity

 

*

 

TAPERS

I wax poetic and burn the candle at both ends.
I borrow from the beginning, I steal from the end
And come up short; feeling deeply cheated.

I pass myself off as the time-keeper but am the time-pleaser
Arch-traitor selling short the days and hours
For approval not fulfillment.

I put away my true identity, mammal, human, the love of.
I have exchanged it for the mask and cape of the Do-do-doer.
A tragic figure of myth and legend who breaks the spirit
Of everyone who attempts the portrayal.

In spite of this the roads teem with actors
Becoming caricatures of a life less lived.
The world is more than a stage
And I must free powers greater than to be more than an audience.

 

 

About Sherrie Theriault

Sherrie Theriault, writer and outsider artist lives in northwest New Jersey where she writes villain-free fiction for children and young adults, creates coloring books for all ages, writes daily inspiration books for the recovery community and has other works of collected poetry; also adult fiction. Books available on Amazon.com include the following: Cala Mae The Deep Dark Day In The Congenial Chronicles The Holland’s Adventure Fill Me In Fill Me In, Too Filled In Sober on the Way to Sane More Sober on the Way to Sane Lines from My Life More Lines from My Life On-Liners to Live By My Sponsor Said… Elissa: Queen of Carthage Was Love Lost Order of Protection The Story Precedes the Question Can You See? What the Birdies Told Me about You What the Birdies Told Me about You Coloring book The Enchanting Dog Sherrie’s books are available at Blue Stockings, Manhattan, NY, The Clinton Book Shoppe, Clinton, New Jersey, Giovanni’s Room, Philadelphia, PA, Easy Does It in Long Beach, CA and The Latest Thing in Costa Mesa, Ca. You can find Sherrie’s art work at Hang-Ups Gallery in Allentown, PA or online at: SerendipitousGallery.com Please feel free to contact her there if you have any questions.
This entry was posted in Affirmation, autodidact, education, experiance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to How I’ve come upon the World

  1. Pingback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 34 Participants | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  2. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 34 (December 2-8) | Jingle

  3. Jingle says:

    I wax poetic and burn the candle at both ends.
    I borrow from the beginning, I steal from the end
    And come up short; feeling deeply cheated….

    u r so very smart,
    love the lines,
    cute piece.
    thanks for sharing it with poets rally.

  4. Neha says:

    I agree with Jingle, the piece in smart and craftfully done!

  5. The last two lines struck me and yes indeed I do agree with you, we can do much more things that we had expected or imagine, it is whether we want to do it or not=)

  6. Fyodor Lewis says:

    Amazing poem! I love it. I totally understand falling into the trap of the “do-do-doer.” You find yourself doing things because you have to but you’re not quite sure why you have to.

    I also like how you “get the drop” on knowledge. That’s a cool perspective.
    Thanks for sharing.

  7. This is an excellent piece of poetry! I agree that it’s amazing!

  8. booguloo says:

    I really like the sentiment but the last line leaves me befuddled, “And I must free powers greater than to be more than an audience.” But that’s OK, maybe I’m supposed to be! 😉

  9. booguloo says:

    I see it now. Of course it is.

Leave a comment