Heart Handed

December 26

 

HEART HANDED

 

 

I pick up the pen in my heart hand and the blood of my soul pours onto the page.  The words coalesce and clot into the binding phrases, sealed deals with my spirit’s punctuation.  Some days it is hard for my mind to keep up; the current is swift and deeper than I expect.  The pulse of energy is amazing even to the mind it feeds.  Like clouds racing the sky this power brings shade to some and rain to others.  The reaction of the moistened varies, some pull up hoods and scurry away, others with upturned faces form a friendship with me.  At the level of electrons, we have a molecular bonding, we are forever changed because I have picked up the pen and they picked up the page.

 

 

Chain yourself to wisdom.

*

 

 

Again Truth

 

 

Not wanting to speak the truth

doesn’t change the truth,

truth is funny that way,

it is not affected by my cold shoulder.

 

I snub it and it stands just the same.

I am the one who bends and withers.

Truth withstands the pressure that I never have,

the force of other people’s disappointment and regret.

 

I have sympathy or is it cowardice?

I tremble at the power of emotion and truth just carries on.

I do not want to be the truth or stand in its place;

for truth is not a beating heart

and I am too much a feeling creature,

but I will learn to keep the company of honesty and right.

 

And stand under the arching bough of truth,

because it is a shelter from the winds of change

and I need all the help I can get.

 

When I am tempted to shun truth in favor of expedience

I will try to remember that life is longer than I think

and if I don’t face the truth now

it is going to be in my face later

when I might be less prepared.

 

Vlog:  http://youtu.be/OeEIHBwvnnA

 

You are reading selections from Sober on the Way to Sane and More Lines From My Life by Sherrie Theriault

http://www.amazon.com/Sober-On-The-Way-Sane/dp/1440417342/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1388576888&sr=8-1&keywords=sober+on+the+way+to+sane

http://www.amazon.com/More-Lines-From-My-Life/dp/1448677203/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1388576956&sr=8-1&keywords=More+Lines+From+My+Life

About Sherrie Theriault

Sherrie Theriault, writer and outsider artist lives in northwest New Jersey where she writes villain-free fiction for children and young adults, creates coloring books for all ages, writes daily inspiration books for the recovery community and has other works of collected poetry; also adult fiction. Books available on Amazon.com include the following: Cala Mae The Deep Dark Day In The Congenial Chronicles The Holland’s Adventure Fill Me In Fill Me In, Too Filled In Sober on the Way to Sane More Sober on the Way to Sane Lines from My Life More Lines from My Life On-Liners to Live By My Sponsor Said… Elissa: Queen of Carthage Was Love Lost Order of Protection The Story Precedes the Question Can You See? What the Birdies Told Me about You What the Birdies Told Me about You Coloring book The Enchanting Dog Sherrie’s books are available at Blue Stockings, Manhattan, NY, The Clinton Book Shoppe, Clinton, New Jersey, Giovanni’s Room, Philadelphia, PA, Easy Does It in Long Beach, CA and The Latest Thing in Costa Mesa, Ca. You can find Sherrie’s art work at Hang-Ups Gallery in Allentown, PA or online at: SerendipitousGallery.com Please feel free to contact her there if you have any questions.
This entry was posted in 12 step recovery, Affirmation, Alcoholics Anonymous, Hope, Humor, Poetry, reader writer relationship, Truth, Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

