Public Privacy

August 28

 

PUBLIC PRIVACY

 

 

 

My public privacy is protected by my smile not my scowl.  Maintaining boundaries as I travel the common areas of life is more readily accomplished by a pleasant demeanor than a dark stare.  I have used negative attitude and found myself outside of my own protection.  The buoyancy of my manner keeps surface tension a natural and acceptable reality.  Hooded behavior drags every interaction into suspicion.  When I make part of my business to put others at ease, it is easier for me to preserve my business as my own.

 

 

Put clothes on ambition.

*

 

 

The Slick Nature of Grace

 

 

 

The higher I climb the more severe the fall;

the sweeter my life the more brittle my blood sugar.

I must be more careful as I get better.

 

I thought being sober would make my life free from care,

but I think it is a freedom from fretting

that might be more accurate.

 

I must still climb and take in all the sweetness

which comes my way,

but always I must vigilantly keep my balance.

Hold on tighter; eat more protein.

 

Grace is a glorious thing

and I am the consecrated recipient

who knows the slickness of the slopes

and the cunning of the glucose.

 

Daring to be sober is an athletic endeavor

I must tighten my cleats

and sharpen my sweet tooth.

 

 

 

 

You are reading selections from Sober on the Way to Sane and More Lines From My Life by Sherrie Theriault

http://www.amazon.com/Sober-On-The-Way-Sane/dp/1440417342/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1388576888&sr=8-1&keywords=sober+on+the+way+to+sane

http://www.amazon.com/More-Lines-From-My-Life/dp/1448677203/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1388576956&sr=8-1&keywords=More+Lines+From+My+Life

About Sherrie Theriault

Sherrie Theriault, writer and outsider artist lives in northwest New Jersey where she writes villain-free fiction for children and young adults, creates coloring books for all ages, writes daily inspiration books for the recovery community and has other works of collected poetry; also adult fiction. Books available on Amazon.com include the following: Cala Mae The Deep Dark Day In The Congenial Chronicles The Holland’s Adventure Fill Me In Fill Me In, Too Filled In Sober on the Way to Sane More Sober on the Way to Sane Lines from My Life More Lines from My Life On-Liners to Live By My Sponsor Said… Elissa: Queen of Carthage Was Love Lost Order of Protection The Story Precedes the Question Can You See? What the Birdies Told Me about You What the Birdies Told Me about You Coloring book The Enchanting Dog Sherrie’s books are available at Blue Stockings, Manhattan, NY, The Clinton Book Shoppe, Clinton, New Jersey, Giovanni’s Room, Philadelphia, PA, Easy Does It in Long Beach, CA and The Latest Thing in Costa Mesa, Ca. You can find Sherrie’s art work at Hang-Ups Gallery in Allentown, PA or online at: SerendipitousGallery.com Please feel free to contact her there if you have any questions.
This entry was posted in 12 step recovery, Affirmation, Alcoholics Anonymous, Hope, Humor, Poetry, Sponsorship, Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

