Doll

June 5

 

DOLL

 

“Why is your face all red?” asked my sponsor.

“I didn’t get my way,” I responded.

“And this crimson appearance is the result?”

“You see that it is.  I was very careful about what I wanted and worked hard to be reasonable.”

“And Baby, you were.  You did nothing wrong.  Your ego was in check and you kept your expectations in proportion.” said my sponsor.

“Then why didn’t it work out my way?”

“I only have a sad and simple answer for you.  The result had nothing to do with you, your wants, expectations or desires.  The whole experience boils down to only one thing: It was not that type of party, Doll.”

“Oh.”

 

 

 

Promise yourself tears like rain and smiles like sunshine.

 

*

 

 

 

 

Discussions with my Disease

 

 

“You’re not the girl I used to know.”

Not the girl you used to love is what you mean?”

 

“You’re different is all I mean to say.”

The rest you leave there to rot, unsaid?”

 

“Something has happened to you.”

Is it something that you do not like?”

 

“I don’t know who you are anymore.”

Or is it that you never knew?”

 

“One false move could break us up.”

All your moves are false

why will one more cause such change?”

 

 

 

You are reading selections from Sober on the Way to Sane and More Lines From My Life by Sherrie Theriault

http://www.amazon.com/Sober-On-The-Way-Sane/dp/1440417342/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1388576888&sr=8-1&keywords=sober+on+the+way+to+sane

http://www.amazon.com/More-Lines-From-My-Life/dp/1448677203/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1388576956&sr=8-1&keywords=More+Lines+From+My+Life

About Sherrie Theriault

Sherrie Theriault, writer and outsider artist lives in northwest New Jersey where she writes villain-free fiction for children and young adults, creates coloring books for all ages, writes daily inspiration books for the recovery community and has other works of collected poetry; also adult fiction. Books available on Amazon.com include the following: Cala Mae The Deep Dark Day In The Congenial Chronicles The Holland’s Adventure Fill Me In Fill Me In, Too Filled In Sober on the Way to Sane More Sober on the Way to Sane Lines from My Life More Lines from My Life On-Liners to Live By My Sponsor Said… Elissa: Queen of Carthage Was Love Lost Order of Protection The Story Precedes the Question Can You See? What the Birdies Told Me about You What the Birdies Told Me about You Coloring book The Enchanting Dog Sherrie’s books are available at Blue Stockings, Manhattan, NY, The Clinton Book Shoppe, Clinton, New Jersey, Giovanni’s Room, Philadelphia, PA, Easy Does It in Long Beach, CA and The Latest Thing in Costa Mesa, Ca. You can find Sherrie’s art work at Hang-Ups Gallery in Allentown, PA or online at: SerendipitousGallery.com Please feel free to contact her there if you have any questions.
This entry was posted in 12 step recovery, Alcoholics Anonymous, Hope, Humor, Poetry, Sponsorship, Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment