Sanitized

June 13

 

Sanitized

 

 

All the water in the well gone dry belongs to me.  Such an offer, how could I refuse?  I stand as near the edge as I can get and try my best to peer, is the goldfish alive?  For you see this is still my best hope, you, the source are also my wishing well, more than just survival you are prospect, neigh dream.  You say that what’s left is mine, but you think of it as incidental, not a need, merely a want.  Someplace deep, beyond where you admit, you know that life is dependant on desire, but will play mine off as casual when it becomes inconvenient to your drives and blindness.  Eunuchs do not immediately perish, but you must confess they do not live.  I stand here a lock to which there is no longer a key and whether I am open or closed it doesn’t matter for the partnership of change is desiccated and I do not care for a waterless solution.

 

 

 

 

Check yourself for false steps

 

*

 

INVENTORY

When you say “self” who do you mean

Asked my sponsor

Do you mean the lovely velvet child,

Or the façade you built to show others?

Well I wish I could answer you, I do, my reply.

I see the shrine you construct in your sobriety

I love that you made it.

When you talk about ridding yourself of self–

I doubt you mean this edifice.

Do you speak of some creature in the past

Do you know of whom you speak

Are you parroting, then assuming this thing exists

Solely for you to now dispose of it?

I thought “self”  was self-evident- I feebly interject.

I want names and locations

If you only suspect some of these entities

Please provide me with a full accounting of your suspicions

I also want, to the best of your ability, the origin of these individuals

I am unwilling to cosign their disposal without a proper bookkeeping

I see by the bright look on your face,

I have made myself clear, she said with conviction.

So this is what you meant by self-inventory, I say and sigh.

 

About Sherrie Theriault

Sherrie Theriault, writer and outsider artist lives in northwest New Jersey where she writes villain-free fiction for children and young adults, creates coloring books for all ages, writes daily inspiration books for the recovery community and has other works of collected poetry; also adult fiction. Books available on Amazon.com include the following: Cala Mae The Deep Dark Day In The Congenial Chronicles The Holland’s Adventure Fill Me In Fill Me In, Too Filled In Sober on the Way to Sane More Sober on the Way to Sane Lines from My Life More Lines from My Life On-Liners to Live By My Sponsor Said… Elissa: Queen of Carthage Was Love Lost Order of Protection The Story Precedes the Question Can You See? What the Birdies Told Me about You What the Birdies Told Me about You Coloring book The Enchanting Dog Sherrie’s books are available at Blue Stockings, Manhattan, NY, The Clinton Book Shoppe, Clinton, New Jersey, Giovanni’s Room, Philadelphia, PA, Easy Does It in Long Beach, CA and The Latest Thing in Costa Mesa, Ca. You can find Sherrie’s art work at Hang-Ups Gallery in Allentown, PA or online at: SerendipitousGallery.com Please feel free to contact her there if you have any questions.
This entry was posted in 12 step recovery, Alcoholics Anonymous, Humor, Inventory, Invetory Taking, Poetry, sanity, Sponsorship and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

