Adjustment

 

February 27

 

Adjustment

 

 

The chase is on, round and round it goes and where it stops no one knows.  I run after control and change as I grasp, but can never quite get my fingers wrapped around the thing.  An open fist is an adjustment; no fist at all would be a feat.  The fool’s errand I send myself on brings suffering; there would be suffering anyhow, I feel I am the cause due to my attempt to avoid it; another backhanded attempt at the illusion, the goal, control.  Adjusting to reality is at first freefall; rarely do I get to second.  The shape taken by the shift in my gears to no gears at all dilates my pupils and the rest is white.  If the colors come back I don’t know when.  If the ground beneath me returns I don’t know how.  I am blinded by the light and can only follow the sound.

 

 

 

 

 

Stall your reticence

 

 

 

*

 

ONE IN A THOUSAND

“Did they tell you the odds when you came in?”
Asked my sponsor
Yes, One in thirty make it to the rooms
One in thirty of those stay for five years.

One in a thousand get truly sober
And are catapulted to another dimension
I responded.
“What was your response to that?”

Well, I showed the proper amount of surprise
“Yes but what did you think inside?”
I thought, Climb with me or I’ll climb over you.
Not very spiritual is it?

“It worked, you’re still sober.
A lot of folks aren’t.
The company you keep is sober.
There is nothing less spiritual than a drunk.”

Is that why it’s called a selfish program?
“I don’t know.”
It seems to me sobriety is a gift you give the world
But I give it to myself.

“Yes, but you can’t give a gift
You don’t have in your possession.”
Point taken.

 

About Sherrie Theriault

Sherrie Theriault, writer and outsider artist lives in northwest New Jersey where she writes villain-free fiction for children and young adults, creates coloring books for all ages, writes daily inspiration books for the recovery community and has other works of collected poetry; also adult fiction. Books available on Amazon.com include the following: Cala Mae The Deep Dark Day In The Congenial Chronicles The Holland’s Adventure Fill Me In Fill Me In, Too Filled In Sober on the Way to Sane More Sober on the Way to Sane Lines from My Life More Lines from My Life On-Liners to Live By My Sponsor Said… Elissa: Queen of Carthage Was Love Lost Order of Protection The Story Precedes the Question Can You See? What the Birdies Told Me about You What the Birdies Told Me about You Coloring book The Enchanting Dog Sherrie’s books are available at Blue Stockings, Manhattan, NY, The Clinton Book Shoppe, Clinton, New Jersey, Giovanni’s Room, Philadelphia, PA, Easy Does It in Long Beach, CA and The Latest Thing in Costa Mesa, Ca. You can find Sherrie’s art work at Hang-Ups Gallery in Allentown, PA or online at: SerendipitousGallery.com Please feel free to contact her there if you have any questions.
This entry was posted in 12 step recovery, aa, Adjustment, Alcoholics Anonymous, Hope, Humor, Poetry, Sponsorship and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment