Lineage

September 28

 

LINEAGE

 

 

 

People stand in the queue and I stare, lost in contemplation and compliance.  I weigh the conflicts and complications.  Is this the method to clear identification?  I think I am better known for the lines I’ve crossed, the times I press between warm souls and force myself to the area beyond.  How can I wait my turn for generational stew when the fruit trees bear life for those who break free from ruts and rumbles to bite deeply the flesh of the future?  I can’t stand here though I love so many in this line, I cannot love the line itself.  I must step through, breathe, stretch my legs and mind, take leave of grids and locks, to live a lonelier but healthier life, all caused by a change in direction.

 

 

Enjoy change like flowers before the fruit.

*

 

Kicks

New balance is more than a brand of sneakers.

New balance is a joyful revelation

made possible through constant vigilance.

I am tap dancing into a vision,

no more soft shoed wishfulness.

I can lift my feet knowing I can keep my up right posture;

my musculature robust from climbing

the steps and accepting direction.

This bright tempo delights me;

I feel stretched, subtle, able-bodied.

Life off the balance beam offers me the world

in which to embrace my equilibrium.

 

About Sherrie Theriault

Sherrie Theriault, writer and outsider artist lives in northwest New Jersey where she writes villain-free fiction for children and young adults, creates coloring books for all ages, writes daily inspiration books for the recovery community and has other works of collected poetry; also adult fiction. Books available on Amazon.com include the following: Cala Mae The Deep Dark Day In The Congenial Chronicles The Holland’s Adventure Fill Me In Fill Me In, Too Filled In Sober on the Way to Sane More Sober on the Way to Sane Lines from My Life More Lines from My Life On-Liners to Live By My Sponsor Said… Elissa: Queen of Carthage Was Love Lost Order of Protection The Story Precedes the Question Can You See? What the Birdies Told Me about You What the Birdies Told Me about You Coloring book The Enchanting Dog Sherrie’s books are available at Blue Stockings, Manhattan, NY, The Clinton Book Shoppe, Clinton, New Jersey, Giovanni’s Room, Philadelphia, PA, Easy Does It in Long Beach, CA and The Latest Thing in Costa Mesa, Ca. You can find Sherrie’s art work at Hang-Ups Gallery in Allentown, PA or online at: SerendipitousGallery.com Please feel free to contact her there if you have any questions.
This entry was posted in Hope, Humor, Poetry, Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lineage

  1. Heidi says:

    How can I wait my turn for generational stew when the fruit trees bear life for those who break free from ruts and rumbles to bite deeply the flesh of the future?

    So true, Sherrie! I’m emailing this to a friend who just called me about this very topic! Thanks!

  2. Heidi says:

    Kicks is very fun. I wouldn’t have had a clue what you’re feeling, just over a year ago! Amazing, amazing…Step by Step! It’s kickin’, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

