Self-Seeking is a Debt

September 21

 

SELF-SEEKING IS A DEBIT

 

 

 

Trying to get credit for everything I do has run me into debt in my anonymity account, which draws directly from my humility bank.  I cannot expend my resources seeking acknowledgement and expect to retain much dignity or class.  How can I build within while constantly grasping for nods and smiles from scenery and landscaping?  I want approval so much that I have lost my center.  In an attempt to top the charts I forgot my song.  My ego writes checks that my soul can’t cover.  I run my potential into the red looking to get my name in black and white.  If I keep my name out of lights I have a chance of building up my dignity.

 

 

Own your own blocks.

*

 

No Jinn

I molested the touch control lamp.

I had no trouble turning it on,

but could never figure how to turn it off;

therefore I let the light shine in the daytime.

I called looking for guidance,

“lick your fingers then try again,” was the glib suggestion.

I offered that I was not interested

in becoming that intimate with said lamp.

Sometimes connections are made easily,

other times they cannot be made at all,

still there are times the renewal of a connection

is determined by my willingness to up the ante.

Am I willing to put a little spit into the effort

or will I leave the light to burn?

 

About Sherrie Theriault

Sherrie Theriault, writer and outsider artist lives in northwest New Jersey where she writes villain-free fiction for children and young adults, creates coloring books for all ages, writes daily inspiration books for the recovery community and has other works of collected poetry; also adult fiction. Books available on Amazon.com include the following: Cala Mae The Deep Dark Day In The Congenial Chronicles The Holland’s Adventure Fill Me In Fill Me In, Too Filled In Sober on the Way to Sane More Sober on the Way to Sane Lines from My Life More Lines from My Life On-Liners to Live By My Sponsor Said… Elissa: Queen of Carthage Was Love Lost Order of Protection The Story Precedes the Question Can You See? What the Birdies Told Me about You What the Birdies Told Me about You Coloring book The Enchanting Dog Sherrie’s books are available at Blue Stockings, Manhattan, NY, The Clinton Book Shoppe, Clinton, New Jersey, Giovanni’s Room, Philadelphia, PA, Easy Does It in Long Beach, CA and The Latest Thing in Costa Mesa, Ca. You can find Sherrie’s art work at Hang-Ups Gallery in Allentown, PA or online at: SerendipitousGallery.com Please feel free to contact her there if you have any questions.
This entry was posted in dignity, ego, freedom, Poetry, self-seeking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Self-Seeking is a Debt

  1. Heidi says:

    Sherrie– what a great page here! “how can I build within while constantly grasping for smiles and nods” … challenges me. I used to proclaim that I didn’t care what people think. I do. I don’t care as much as some people I know seem to care about it, but that’s not the issue is it? That’s like saying I can’t be an alcoholic because I don’t drink as much as my buddy…

Leave a Reply

