Hatchling

September 17

 

HATCHLING

 

 

 

When the shell gets too tight it’s time to hatch.  I can’t tell you it’s safe out there, just that it’s time to go.  The leaving is not easy.  Exodus fulfilled by the use of one small tooth.  This experience may or may not prepare you for the rest of your life, so much still depends on predestination and your attitude.  I mean are you a chicken or a hawk?  A peacock or dove?  Or is there something of which I am unaware?  Did someone sit on your nest or was it covered in sand?  Are you turtle, lizard or snake?  See, so much is out of your hands, but still your actions are your choice.

 

 

Touch your books and pet them.

*

 

Ovoid

I can pretend at this normal life for a period of time

then the plaster starts to crack on this white picket fence

and it’s all down hill from there.

I am better than I was;

I am happier and more well adjusted,

yet I am still far from fitting with the standard fittings,

I am an off size, my threads run counter to the average fixture,

I spent too much time on the rack

to resemble anything from off the rack.

It’s not that I am so special;

it is just that I am Special Ed.

Performance anxiety and paranoia regularly take me out of round

though even with these kept at bay I am not your normal nut.

I assure you that you can dress me up and take me out,

just don’t try to take me home.

 

About Sherrie Theriault

Sherrie Theriault, writer and outsider artist lives in northwest New Jersey where she writes villain-free fiction for children and young adults, creates coloring books for all ages, writes daily inspiration books for the recovery community and has other works of collected poetry; also adult fiction. Books available on Amazon.com include the following: Cala Mae The Deep Dark Day In The Congenial Chronicles The Holland’s Adventure Fill Me In Fill Me In, Too Filled In Sober on the Way to Sane More Sober on the Way to Sane Lines from My Life More Lines from My Life On-Liners to Live By My Sponsor Said… Elissa: Queen of Carthage Was Love Lost Order of Protection The Story Precedes the Question Can You See? What the Birdies Told Me about You What the Birdies Told Me about You Coloring book The Enchanting Dog Sherrie’s books are available at Blue Stockings, Manhattan, NY, The Clinton Book Shoppe, Clinton, New Jersey, Giovanni’s Room, Philadelphia, PA, Easy Does It in Long Beach, CA and The Latest Thing in Costa Mesa, Ca. You can find Sherrie’s art work at Hang-Ups Gallery in Allentown, PA or online at: SerendipitousGallery.com Please feel free to contact her there if you have any questions.
This entry was posted in Hope, Humor, Poetry, Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hatchling

  1. Heidi says:

    ‘Just don’t try to take me home’ ha.
    Very witty. I don’t fit with the standard fittings, either. Happy to read your work again, Sherrie! Are you done with the big clean?

    • Lands no, I have to go launch back into it now….I am making progress. I am going to go put some clothes away and throw out some boxes. I think it will be okay. I am thinking of entering the new 3 minute fiction on NPR, have you ever thought of entering?

Leave a comment